WhatsApp only few months ago launched the Delete for everyone feature that allows users to delete any sent message on the app. The time frame that the chat app earlier gave was 7 minutes and it recently got updated to 1 hour 8 minutes and 16 seconds. However, many Android users, through unauthorised WhatsApp versions could delete WhatsApp message as old as 3 years. But the chat app has put an end to this now. At least that’s what the report suggests.

WaBetaInfo reports that Facebook-owned chat company is secretly working on a feature called ‘Block revoke request’ that would be useful in keeping a check on the misuse of Delete for Everyone feature. The website explains that when the user deletes a message for everyone, WhatsApp sends a new message with the same ID of the message that user wants to delete to the recipient(s).

The reason why some of the users were able to delete 3 years old message through some tricks was because WhatsApp did not check any other important information other than the ID of the message and the revoke request. When the recipient received this particular message contained the revoke request, WhatsApp checked if the ID of the message was present in the database and directly deleted it.